Jessica Mondillo’s Blog



Can Clinton and Obama talk about the issues, not talk about racism?

14 January 2008

I’ll be honest I don’t know much about the major headline today because I haven’t seen every report on the issue and I wasn’t there.  But right now the news of the day according to Verizon’s homepage news blurb is “Clinton, Obama Clash Over Race.”

I want to know why  both of them are trying to play the minority card.  I have heard more about Hillary is a women so women will vote for her.  And Barack is an African American so African Americans will vote for him.

This is sad and twisted logic.  People shouldn’t be voting for people because they have a similarity with the candidate.  I thought picking a PRESIDENT was about issues.

I don’t care that Barack Obama isn’t white or that Hillary Clinton is a women.   I care about the candidate’s past voting record.  I care that the candidate is against gun control and for abortion.  I care that they are pro gay rights.  In short I care about the issues.

Why is the media covering race issues, that have nothing to with a person’s policies, instead of important hot button issues?  If the media didn’t focus on minority aspect of the presidential race (using a gossip style coverage) and covered issues, I would feel much more confident that the US’s next president was one people actually believed could accomplish something within their four years as president.

I want to know why people think that because I am a women, I should vote for Hillary.  This is a flawed logic.   If you agree with Hillary Clinton’s political beliefs or Barack Obama’s AND believe that HE or SHE would be the best candidate for the job, please by all means vote for them.  But I don’t want our next president chosen because they are a minority.  I want a president that people feel is capable of doing the job.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * kip says:

    ‘Scuse me, you’re a woman, and you’re AGAINST gun control?
    Perhaps you might want to take a step back and think about what the hell you’re complaining about. As a liberal, I’m frustrated as hell that the two best people for the job of running our country can’t possibly win; one because of race, the other because of gender. I sure as hell don’t like it, but let’s stop playing games.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    Yes I am against gun control. Gun control only stops law abiding citizens from owning a gun, not criminals. After all criminals don’t obey the laws, so if they are told they can’t have a gun it is not going to stop them. In my mind a criminal is going to be more detered at the chance of losing their life because of opposition of an armed victim than at a helpless victim.

    I am complaining about the fact that no one seems tofocus on the issues. I don’t care if Barack Obama is black or that Hillary Clinton in a woman. I care about their stance on issues. Personally I may not be for their stances, but I want the American public to vote for who they think is the best candidate. I am saying I don’t want race or gender to be a reason a candidate wins or loses. I am saying I want a FAIR election for the candidates.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. I agree with you, these candidates are in a competition to make the other look bad. It’s as if they are trying to show us why we should NOT vote for the other instead of letting us know why we should vote for them. I personally don’t think we should be voting race or female. We should be voting on whether or not we approve of how they will handle health care, the economy and the stupid war.

    I am on the fence on gun control. Well maybe not since I do own three. I just feel that it is my right to have guns. Since they aren’t trying to take the guns from the criminals what are they going to do. In Canada hand guns are banned yet a plethora of criminals have them. And now people are being shot. So banning guns doesn’t get rid of guns or gun crimes. I can also see why guns are bad so don’t chew my head of people.

    Thanks.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  4. * thegreatgeno says:

    Obama is not making this issue about race. Clinton is trying to spin that to paint Obama in a negative light, while she continues to play the gender card whenever possible. Obama has actually spent the last week refusing to comment on the situation.

    I agree with everything you said (as it relates to the topical issue, that is), but wanted to point out that this is Clinton’s problem, not Obama’s.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    I know it is Clinton who has been causing most of this issue, and for that you do have to respect Obama in trying to avoid “playing the race card.” Most of my problem with the whole race issue comes from the media attention and the way most candidates (in both parties) say why you shouldn’t vote for the other guys but never tell you specifically why you should vote for them.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Zendo Deb says:

    Assuming that all women are in favor of gun control is the worst kind of prejudice.

    I look at one superficial characteristic – race, gender, creed, whatever – and from that I can deduce your political leanings/positions on issues/moral character.

    Rewrite that sentence from the first comment, substitute race for gender, and any issue for “against gun control” and see how it sounds.

    There are blacks against gun control – see The 7th Cavalry Gun Club
    There are gays against gun control – see Pink Pistols.
    There are Jews against gun control – see Jews for the Preservation of Firearm Ownership.

    In short when you say “You belong to X group, therefore you must have Y position on the issues” you are showing your bigoted nature. There isn’t a way to sugar coat that.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    That is a really good example of of how race and gender do not determine your stance on an issue.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

