Jessica Mondillo’s Blog



Who said women are Pro Gun Control?

24 January 2008

In my post “Can Clinton and Obama Talk About the Issues not About Racism?” the user Kip commented “‘Scuse me, you’re a woman, and you’re AGAINST gun control?

This seems both stereotypical and weird to me.  I have been a member of both a local shooting team and the Massachusetts State Smallbore Rifle team for the last 4 years.

When I started with Taunton Rifle and Pistol Club there were 4 girls out of 16 people or 25%.  When I stopped going frequently at the end of the summer there was 5 girls out of 12 people or 42%.

In the state team when I started the state team was 2 girls out of 12 people or 17%.  Now there are 4 girls out of 10 people or 40%.

In both cases this shows an increasing number of females learning to shoot and participating in firearms related activities.  This follows with NSSF research that says more women are joining into firearms related activities such as hunting and target shooting between 2001 and 2005.

Maybe it’s just me but I feel safer with a firearm.  If someone is going to commit a crime against me whether it be burglary, rape, etc. or it’s a situation of my life or there is at least with a gun I can protect my life and the lives of the people I care about.  Without a gun very few women, including myself, would have the ability to stand up against a man just because of the sheer size and strength difference between the sexes.

Even gun-hating Rosie O’Donnell feels safer with a firearm, that is after all why her body guards have one to protect her and her kids.  In May 2000 she even said, “I don’t personally own a gun, but if you are qualified, licensed and registered, I have no problem.”

And on the more specific gun control aspect, I hate it.  Laws only restrict people who abide by them.  True?  The very nature of a criminal is they break the law.  So if you impose a law saying I can’t have a certain type of gun because it may be used in a crime when I have never committed a crime in my life, how is that helping?  You didn’t stop the criminal, just the law abiding citizen.  Criminals break the law, at least if there is the possibility of an armed victim, maybe they will think twice about committing a crime.  After all most criminals aren’t willing to risk death to commit a crime.

I’ve always had guns around.  And ever since I have become more active in the gun-owning community I have seen an increase of women getting involved.  Granted gun ownership is still dominated by men but more women are becoming involved and helping to break a stereotype that all women must be anti gun.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SayUncle » Chicks and Guns pingbacked on 9 years, 6 months ago

Comments

  1. * Ace says:

    Well said!

    More pro-gun women need to make themselves heard. Not every woman is a gun-banning soccer mom. I’m sure somewhere out there is a soccer mom who’s also a gun owner.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of “soccer moms” did own a firearm. In a way I am not surprised that women don’t speak up that they are pro gun. In many cases women tend to be shier (though this is a huge generalization, most women I see are shier than men but not always) and I think are less likely to speak up in what appears to be a male dominated area. I know several girls that I have shot with who were very proud of their accomplishments as a shooter but didn’t want to make it known to everyone either because they were orried about how people would view them or just because they felt it was to boyish to admit to everyone.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Jim Rustad says:

    “I’m sure somewhere out there is a soccer mom who’s also a gun owner.”

    Like my wife. She’s got several “soccer mom” t-shirts, a mini-van AND a shotgun.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Rustmeister says:

    One of the gun shows I watch had women shooters as the theme last night. One of the instructors said (I paraphrase):

    “Women are the future of the shooting sports, not kids. Women decide what sports the kids will participate in, and they decide whether ther’ll be a gun in the house or not.”

    Very true.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Zendo Deb says:

    It is both stereotyping and weird. As I said in a comment on the other post, looking at one superficial characteristic, like gender or race, and assuming you can deduce anything of substance about that person, is bigotry plain and simple.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    It is a very weird stereotyping issue. I don’t know if I agree that women are the future of the sport but it does make sense at the same time. Without children getting into it will never get to the next generation. At the same time women do haev a lto to do with the sports their children are invovled in but not all. My mom wanted my dad to get rid of his guns when they got married, that didn’t happen and I am now very happy as a shooter, partly due to my mom but mostly to my dad’s stubborn refusal to get rid of his gun.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Theodore Sames II says:

    I am glad to see women (or men for that matter) taking charge of their lives. Police officers write excellent reports as we are taught by college professors. But the reports are written after the crime is committed. In Brandon, FL the other day, an older women was grabbed in the late evening while depositing library books in the receptacle. She was able to drive away and call the police. Apparently, the police did not fully investigate the incident. One hour later, a young 18-year old woman made the same deposit but was battered into a coma and left for dead….and she was raped. The police were able to obtain DNA from the crime scene and discovered that the criminal committed another battery and rape about 20 miles away. Who is going to protect women? Check the stats: Criminals look for easy victims as older people and women. Today in America, it seems to be unfashionable to believe in self-defense…assigning evil to the firearm and not to the criminal. Find rape victims for me…I will teach them self-defense at no cost…Ted Sames II, Sames Instinctive Shooting School, sames1128@yahoo.com

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  8. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    Ted, I agree with what you said. The line that I agree with the most is that it has become unfashionable to believe in self defense and the fact that people are calling the instrument not the doer evil. If a carpenter does a good job making a piece of furniture, you would never say the hammer did a good job, you would say the carpenter did. The principle should be the same with crimes and criminals. The scary part is as more people turn from self defense, it is becoming harder for people to defend themselves. For example, in Massachusetts if a person brakes into your house using a firearm is suppose to be your last resort after warning them AND trying to get away. The way the law is writen, it means that it is better for you to leave your house and let a robber take your money, identity, valuables and potentially ruin your life before trying to protect yourself, your family, and your property. And if you do use a firearm to protect yourself, you can and in many case will be tried with criminal charges. More states are trying to inact the Castle Doctorine, which allows for you to defend your home without persecution, but many states still don’t.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

