Jessica Mondillo’s Blog



AOL Straw Poll has Ron Paul in Second. McCain in first.

28 January 2008

As of right this very second Ron Paul is in second to McCain on the AOL Straw Poll with 24% (McCain has 27%).  Ron Paul is winning 24 of the 50 states and Washington DC.  McCain only has 12 states.

Using the electoral college method, Ron Paul would actually be winning the election so why are the votes so far so drastically different than what it says?

Ron Paul didn’t get first in New Hampshire in the primaries, yet in the Straw Poll he is winning NH.  Is every person not voting for Ron Paul also not participate in on-line polls?

It is also ironic to me that on-line Ron Paul keeps topping polls as does McCain, yet up until recently McCain was not even considered a front runner.  I hate the way the media has been paying so much attention to Romney and Giuliani when they are not the front runners.  I feel like the media is pushing the candidate they want to win.

At one time the media was suppose to give equal time coverage to all the candidates but it does not seem like that is happening anymore.  I open the newspaper and I very rarely read about Ron Paul but there are plenty of long articles on Giuliani and Romney.

I really wish the media would start covering candidates equally.  The media has such a large influence on everyday life that on a major life effecting decision I think every candidate should get equal press time regardless of their ethnicity, religion, sex, or party affiliation.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Joe says:

    Let me first say that I am a Ron Paul supporter.

    “Is every person not voting for Ron Paul also not participate [sic] in on-line polls?

    Correct. There is no doubt that Ron Paul has by far the largest number of internet supporters, but that does not mean he has the largest number of supporters in general. Granted, if you look at the number of democrats and independents who would support him in a general election, his popularity is much greater than it would seem based on his results in the republican-only primaries.

    “I feel like the media is pushing the candidate they want to win”

    I think all Paul supporters have felt this at some point during the campaign. When it comes down to it, though, it’s just a conspiracy theory. There’s no doubt the GOP has been pushing for its top-tier candidates (Rudy McRomneyson, now minus the -son). The media will cover whatever most consumers want to see, and based on how the primaries turned out, that is not Ron Paul. That said, I have seen much more Paul coverage over the last month, and have only positive feelings about his media coverage in the near future.

    “I really wish the media would start covering candidates equally”

    I have a big problem with this. As far as I know, Ron Paul does not support the equal-time mandates. I can’t imagine he ever would, as it is the government telling private corporations (media companies) how to run their respective businesses. I wish Ron Paul would be on the front cover of every newspaper, every day. In no way would I ever support a law that mandates this. I do realize that more people support Ron Paul than just Libertarians, which I consider myself to be. But as a Libertarian, I don’t think Ron Paul would ever support what you’re saying.

    Keep your chin up, and stay positive. The more the media ignores Paul, the more determined Paul supporters seem to be. A strong showing on Super Tuesday will have a lot of people asking these same questions.

    They’ll say, “Why haven’t I heard of this guy if he’s doing so well?”

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Jessica Mondillo says:

    I hope so. I know Ron Paul doesn’t support the equal time mandates I just don’t think it is right that on something like the presidential elections they can sway so much of the vote by basically chosing a candidate that they want.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

