Jessica Mondillo’s Blog



Last Year Kerry Made an Unfair Assesment on College Students being Politically Active

25 February 2008

There’s something that has been bothering me for several months. Last semester John Kerry came to BU and basically scolded the student population for not being politically active. The way I had interpreted his words, it was a reprimand for not voting.

Honestly, I though Boston University was relatively politically active, especially compared to other colleges and universities (i.e. state schools). Almost everywhere you go on campus you will either see political signs or hear political discussions.

I also think it is not fair to claim that this group of college students is not politically active. Although some of us may have gone through smaller local elections or even Senate elections, unless the student is either a grad student or a senior, the majority have not had the opportunity to vote in a presidential election.

I personally was politically active, even before I could vote. It is not fair to assess that I am not politically active or not fulfilling my civic duty because I have voted once in my life. I haven’t even been 18 for 6 months. Many of the students I go to school with are in a similar situation as I am; they have NEVER been able to vote before.

I believe that before Kerry, or any ‘older’ adult for the matter, says that college students need to vote and be more politically active they need to think. Yes, there are many reasons college students do not vote—absentee ballots are difficult to fill out or they are not informed and do not feel that they should vote. Yet at the same time, saying that we are not politically active is not a fair assessment. This is our first chance to vote in a major election (or in some cases at all), not our 2nd, 5th or 10th time. If the majority of new voters do not vote in their first presidential election then you can accuse of us of not being politically active or caring enough to vote.

Please visit this post on my other blog to help me earn scholarship money.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments



Leave a Reply

